Gramophone Awards 2018: Joyce DiDonato and Neeme Järvi honoured in winners list

13 September 2018, 22:01 | Updated: 14 September 2018, 17:02

The winners of the prestigious Gramophone Awards have been unveiled, following tonight’s glitzy ceremony in London.

Every year the Gramophone Awards celebrate the very best in classical music. The full list of winners has now been announced, following tonight’s ceremony in London.

Illustrious conductor Neeme Järvi was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award, while Rachel Podger was honoured with the Artist of the Year Award.

Read more: Neeme Järvi: ‘Every parent MUST introduce their child to music’

Norwegian soprano Lise Davidsen won an award for Young Artist of the Year, while John Nelson’s Erato set of Berlioz’s Les Troyens, starring Joyce DiDonato, took home a Gramophone Award for Recording of the Year.

Internationally-renowned violinist Christian Tetzlaff's recording of Bartók’s violin concertos with Hannu Lintu and the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra won the Concerto category, while Marianne Crebassa and Fazıl Say’s exploration of French song, ‘Secrets’, claimed the Solo Vocal prize.

Neeme Järvi conducts the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra
Neeme Järvi conducts the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra. Picture: Gramophone Awards

Elsewhere, the Pavel Haas Quartet with Boris Giltburg and Pavel Nikl won the Chamber category for its recording of Dvořák quintets. The quartet is no stranger to the Gramophone Awards, having won Recording of the Year in 2011 for its recording of Dvořák string quartets and a Gramophone Chamber Award for four out of its seven recordings.

The winners were presented with their prizes at a star-studded ceremony at the De Vere Grand Connaught Rooms in London.

Here is the full list of winners:

Chamber Dvořák Piano Quintets Boris Giltburg; Pavel Nikl; Pavel Haas Quartet (Supraphon)

Choral Schnittke Psalms of Repentence Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir / Kaspars Putniņš (BIS)

Concerto Bartók Violin Concertos Christian Tetzlaff; Finnish RSO / Hannu Lintu (Ondine)

Contemporary (sponsored by PPL & PRS for Music) Dusapin Quatuor VI & VII Arditti Quartet et al (aeon)

Early Music ‘Music from the Peterhouse Partbooks’, Vol 5 Blue Heron / Scott Metcalfe (Blue Heron)

Instrumental Brahms Piano works, Opp 76, 117 & 118 Arcadi Volodos (Sony Classical)

Opera (sponsored by E. Gutzwiller & Cie, Banquiers) Berlioz Les Troyens John Nelson (Erato)

Orchestral Ravel Daphnis et Chloé Les Siècles / François-Xavier Roth (Harmonia Mundi)

Recital ‘Agitata’ Baroque Arias Delphine Galou; Accademia Bizantina / Ottavio Dantone (Alpha)

Solo Vocal (sponsored by Mrs Joan Jones) ‘Secrets’ French songs Marianne Crébassa; Fazil Say (Erato)

The following artists were presented with a special award:

Lifetime Achievement Award Neeme Järvi

Label of the Year Harmonia Mundi

Artist of the Year Rachel Podger

Young Artist of the Year Lise Davidsen

Orchestra of the Year Seattle Symphony Orchestra

Recording of the Year John Nelson’s Erato set of Berlioz’s Les Troyens, starring Joyce DiDonato

Watch the full ceremony here:

Gramophone Classical Music Awards 2018 live broadcast

We're live from the glitzy Gramophone Classical Music Awards 2018!

Posted by Classic FM on Thursday, 13 September 2018