Royal Philharmonic Society 2013 winners announced

14 May 2013, 22:00 | Updated: 4 October 2013, 15:37

Philharmonia Orchestra, Britten Sinfonia and Birmingham Opera Company are among the classical music ensembles and organisation to win a prestigious award at this evening's ceremony - alongside Classic FM who picked up the Creative Communication award.

Winners of the Royal Philharmonic Society Awards 2013 were announced this evening, with musicians including Philharmonia Orchestra, Britten Sinfonia and Birmingham Opera Company being honoured. Recipients in 13 categories were chosen by an independent jury, celebrating the achievements of performers, composers and arts organisations.

Classic FM won the Creative Communication award for its work in broadening the reach of classical music through artistic collaborations and partnerships with regional orchestras, its website, record label, and accomplishments in music education.

In celebration of their bicentenary, the RPS also presented five International Awards to 'musical visionaries' from across the world. Since Carl Maria von Weber was granted honorary membership in 1826, the rare award has only been presented 131 times.

Royal Philharmonic Society Awards 2013: full list of winners

Audiences and Engagement – Universe of Sound (Philharmonia Orchestra
Chamber Music and Song – Music in the Round
Chamber-Scale Composition – Rebecca Saunders: Fletch
Concert Series and Festival – New Music 20x12 (PRS for Music Foundation)
Conductor – Kirill Karabits
Creative Communication – Classic FM
Ensemble – Britten Sinfonia
Instrumentalist – Steven Osborne
Large-Scale Composition – Gerald Barry: The Importance of Being Earnest
Learning and Participation - Cycle Song (Proper Job Theatre Company and Scunthorpe Co-operative Junior Choir)
Opera and Music Theatre - Mittwoch aus Licht (Birmingham Opera Company)
Singer – Sarah Connolly
Young Artists – Heath Quartet

RPS Honorary Memberships in association with the British Council

Ricardo Castro
Armand Diangienda Wabasolele
Aaron P. Dworkin
Rosemary Nalden
Dr Ahmad Sarmast