Grammy Awards 2014: classical music winners

27 January 2014, 10:31 | Updated: 4 June 2014, 18:03

Conductor Osmo Vänskä playing Sibelius with the Minnesota Orchestra, Thomas Adès' recording of The Tempest and Arvo Pärt are among this year's classical winners at the 56th Grammy Awards.

The Minnesota Orchestra, which earlier this month emerged from a lengthy dispute with its musicians, won the Grammy for orchestral recording for its album of Sibelius' Symphonies Nos. 1 & 4, conducted by Osmo Vänskä.

Singer Dawn Upshaw championed crowd-funding as she accepted her trophy in the pre-show awards, calling on artists to get serious about digital piracy. Composer Thomas Ades was also present, picking up an award for for the Metropolitan Opera's recording of his opera The Tempest.

The audience were also treated to a special performance from Lang Lang, who joined forces with Metallica for a duet of epic proportions, performing Metallica's 'One' together.

Grammys 2014: classical music winners

Best Orchestral Performance

Atterberg: Orchestral Works Vol. 1 — Neeme Järvi (conductor), Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra

Lutoslawski: Symphony No. 1 — Esa-Pekka Salonen (conductor), Los Angeles Philharmonic

Schumann: Symphony No. 2; Overtures Manfred & Genoveva — Claudio Abbado (conductor), Orchestra Mozart

Sibelius: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 4 — Osmo Vänskä (conductor), Minnesota Orchestra WINNER

Stravinsky: Le Sacre du Printemps — Simon Rattle (conductor), Berliner Philharmoniker

Best Opera Recording

Adès: The Tempest — Thomas Adès (conductor); Simon Keenlyside, Isabel Leonard, Audrey Luna, Alan Oke (soloists); Luisa Bricetti and Victoria Warivonchick (producers) WINNER

Britten: The Rape of Lucretia — Oliver Knussen (conductor); Ian Bostridge, Peter Coleman-Wright, Susan Gritton, Angelika Kirchschlager (soloists); John Fraser (producer)

Kleiberg: David and Bathsheba — Tönu Kaljuste (conductor); Anna Eimarsson and Johannes Weisser (soloists); Morten Lindberg (producer)

Vinci: Artaserse — Diego Fasolis (conductor); Valer Barna-Sabadus, Daniel Behle, Max Emanuel Cenčić, Franco Fagioli, Philippe Jaroussky (soloists); Ulrich Russcher (producer)

Wager: Der Ring des Nibelungen — Christian Thielemann (conductor); Katarina Dalayman, Albert Dohmen, Stephen Gould, Eric Halfvarson, Linda Watson (soloists); Ohmar Eichinger (producer)

Best Choral Performance

Berlioz: Grande Messe de Morts — Colin Davis (conductor) (with Barry Banks, London Symphony Orchestra, London Philharmonic Choir and London Symphony Chorus)

Parry: Works for Chorus & Orchestra — Neeme Järvi (conductor), Adrian Partington (chorus master) (with Amanda Roocroft, BBC National Orchestra of Wales and BBC National Chorus of Wales)

Pärt: Adam's Lament — Tõnu Kaljuste (conductor) (with Tui Hirv & Rainer Vilu; Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir; Sinfonietta Riga & Tallinn Chamber Orchestra; Latvian Radio Choir & Vox Clamantis) WINNER

Whitbourn: Annelies — James Jordan (conductor) (conductor) (with Arianna Zukerman, The Lincoln Trio and the Westminster Williamson Voices)

Palestrina: Volume 3 — Harry Christophers (conductor) (with The Sixteen)

Best Chamber Music/Small Ensemble Performance

Beethoven: Violin Sonatas — Leonidas Kavakos & Enrico Pace

Cage: The 10,000 Things — Vicki Ray, William Winant, Aron Kallay & Tom Peters

Duo — Hélène Grimaud & Sol Gabetta

Roomful of Teeth — Brad Wells & Roomful of Teeth WINNER

Times Go By Turns — New York Polyphony

Best Classical Instrumental Solo

Bartók, Eötvös & Ligeti — Patricia Kopatchinskaja (soloist), Peter Eötvös (conductor)

Corigliano: Conjurer – Concerto for Percussionist & String Orchestra — Evelyn Glennie (soloist), David Alan Miller (conductor) WINNER

The Edge of Light — Gloria Cheng

Lindberg: Piano Concerto No. 2 — Yefim Bronfman (soloist), Alan Gilbert (conductor)

Salonen: Violin Concerto; Nyx — Leila Josefowicz (soloist), Esa-Pekka Salonen (conductor)

Schubert: Piano Sonatas D. 845 & D. 960 — Maria João Pires

Best Classical Vocal Solo

Drama Queens — Joyce DiDonato

Mission — Cecilia Bartoli

Schubert: Winterreise — Christoph Prégardien

Wagner — Jonas Kaufmann

Winter Morning Walks — Dawn Upshaw WINNER

Best Classical Compendium

Hindemith: Violinkonzert; Symphonic Metamorphosis; Konzertmusik — Christoph Eschenbach (conductor) WINNER

Holmboe: Concerto — Dima Slobodeniouk (conductor), Preben Iwan (producer)

Tabakova: String Paths — Maxim Rysanov (conductor), Manfred Eicher (producer)

Best Classical Contemporary Composition

Piano Concerto No. 2 — Morten Lindberg

Adam's Lament — Arvo Pärt

Violin Concerto — Esa-Pekka Salonen

Winter Morning Walks — Maria Schneider WINNER

Partita for 8 Voices — Caroline Shaw