Andrea and Matteo Bocelli: albums, songs and 2019 tour revealed

9 November 2018, 14:18

‘Sì’, Andrea Bocelli’s first album of all-new material in 14 years, features a beautifully poignant duet with his 20-year-old son, Matteo Bocelli.

As the father-son duo appear on Strictly Come Dancing this weekend, here’s everything you need to know about Matteo and Andrea Bocelli’s album, songs and tour plans for the year ahead…

  1. What is Andrea and Matteo Bocelli’s new duet?

    Andrea has collaborated with his son Matteo Bocelli for the first time on his new album, .

    Their heartfelt English-Italian duet, ‘Fall on Me’, features in Disney’s new live-action remake of The Nutcracker. They also sing together on the album track ‘Ven a Mi’.

    The Internet has a new boyfriend and his name is Matteo Bocelli >

    On blending his voice with his son’s vocals, Andrea said: “Technically they are very different, but there is one thing that makes them most similar: the attitude. That characteristic way of expressing yourself through your voice.

    “This makes Matteo and I very similar. But that is something that you cannot learn, that cannot be taught. That is something you are born with.”

    Disney's 'The Nutcracker And The Four Realms' - European Premiere - VIP Arrivals
    Disney's 'The Nutcracker And The Four Realms' - European Premiere - VIP Arrivals. Picture: Getty
  2. Is Matteo Bocelli going on tour with his father?

    Last Friday (2 November), Matteo Bocelli appeared on stage at his father’s concert at The O2 Arena, London.

    Andrea Bocelli’s next UK tour date is 19 October 2019. He will start at the Genting Arena in Birmingham and tour around Glasgow, Belfast and Leeds. It is unknown whether Matteo Bocelli will join his father on his future tour dates.

  3. Which songs feature on Andrea Bocelli’s new album ‘Sì’?

    The album contains several new duets, including ‘If Only’ with Dua Lipa, ‘Ave Maria’ with Aida Garifullina and ‘We Will Meet Once Again’ with Josh Groban.

    You can also hear Bocelli’s new duet with Ed Sheeran, ‘Amo Soltanto Te’, which Sheeran co-wrote with Italian singer Tiziano Ferro.

    On recording the album, Bocelli said: “I wanted to go back to my memories of being a young man, playing at a piano bar. Obviously since then, I've produced lots of albums, sung lots of covers, performed many other things.

    “But at a certain point I said to myself: ‘Maybe the time has come to put my effort into finding new songs.’ Like starting all over again, as it were, in my career.”

    Matteo and Andrea Bocelli
    Matteo and Andrea Bocelli. Picture: Sugar/Decca
  4. See the full track list for ‘Sì’ below

    1. Ali di Libertà
    2. Amo Soltanto Te (feat. Ed Sheeran)
    3. Un’Anima
    4. If Only (feat. Dua Lipa)
    5. Gloria The Gift Of Life
    6. Fall On Me (feat. Matteo Bocelli)
    7. We Will Meet Once Again (feat. Josh Groban)
    8. I Am Here
    9. Vertigo (with Raphael Gualazzi at the piano)
    10. Vivo
    11. Dormi Dormi
    12. Ave Maria Pietas (feat. Aida Garifullina)
    13. Meditation
    14. Miele Impuro
    15. Sono Qui (acoustic version)
    16. Ali di libertà (acoustic version)