City Music Foundation announces first ever award-winners

30 August 2013, 12:09 | Updated: 30 August 2013, 12:40

The winners of the City Music Foundation's first ever awards have been announced after judging by a star-studded panel.

The winners, made up of solo instrumentalists and groups, will receive professional support for the beginning of their professional career, including concerts, marketing and PR support from experienced mentors.

The winners are:

Mikhail Nemtsov (cello)
Miriam Nerval (recorder)
Alastair Penman (saxophone)
Mari Poll (violin)
Claire Iselin (harp)
Cordelia Williams (piano)
Bridie Jackson & The Arbour (group)
Tir Eolas (group)

Managing director of the charity Lizzie Allen commented: "The City Music Foundation has been set up to support professional musicians during the transition period between education and career - arguably the most challenging time in a musician’s life - through performance opportunities and mentoring."

Trustees of the charity include Lord Mayor of the City of London Roger Gifford, Sir Nicholas Kenyon, Placido Domingo KBE, Sir Richard Stilgoe OBE, The Brodsky Quartet, Sally Matthews, and Jacqui Dankworth and Simon Callow CBE.

The new charity is a joint venture from the Barbican Arts Centre, the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, the London Symphony Orchestra, the City of London Festival and the Worshipful Company of Musicians.