Lion King soundtrack: Disney’s original songs from 1994 film to return for live-action remake

26 June 2019, 11:48

By Sofia Rizzi

Disney’s live-action remake of ‘The Lion King’ will feature much of the original music from the 1994 animation, including tracks by Elton John and Hans Zimmer.

As the release of The Lion King (2019) edges nearer, Disney has released a full track list of the 19 songs that will appear in the film – and it includes all the old favourites.

‘Circle of Life’, ‘Can You Feel The Love Tonight’ and ‘I Just Can’t Wait To Be King’ all feature on the soundtrack, with new production courtesy of rapper and producer Pharrell Williams.

The songs have all been re-recorded by the new cast, which includes Beyoncé, Donald Glover and Chiwetel Ejiofor.

Disney release the new track list for The Lion King (2019)
Disney release the new track list for The Lion King (2019). Picture: Disney

The new soundtrack includes Hans Zimmer’s original music that scored the iconic stampede scene in the 1994 animation, as well as ‘Battle for Pride Rock’.

Take a look at the entire cast here >

Last week, Disney released a teaser clip of Beyoncé as Nala and Donald Glover as Simba singing ‘Can You Feel The Love Tonight’:

Sir Elton John’s music will play a big part in the live-action remake. Plus, he has written a brand new song for the film called ‘Never Too Late’.

Although the new soundtrack certainly gives us a clearer idea of what is to come in the The Lion King (2019), there is still one mystery song on the soundtrack, which is currently labelled ‘to be announced’ (TBA).

So watch this space...

The Lion King – 2019 Original Motion Picture Soundtrack:

1. ‘Circle of Life / Nants' Ingonyama’ – Lindiwe Mkhize & Lebo M
2. ‘Life’s Not Fair’ – Hans Zimmer
3. ‘Rafiki’s Fireflies’ – Hans Zimmer
4. ‘I Just Can't Wait to Be King’ – JD McCrary, Shahadi Wright Joseph & John Oliver
5. ‘Elephant Graveyard’ – Hans Zimmer
6. ‘Be Prepared (2019 Version)’ – Chiwetel Ejiofor
7. ‘Stampede’ – Hans Zimmer
8. ‘Scar Takes the Throne’ – Hans Zimmer
9. ‘Hakuna Matata’ – Billy Eichner, Seth Rogen, JD McCrary & Donald Glover
10. ‘Simba Is Alive!’ – Hans Zimmer
11. ‘The Lion Sleeps Tonight’ – Billy Eichner & Seth Rogen
12. ‘Can You Feel the Love Tonight’ – Beyoncé, Donald Glover, Billy Eichner & Seth Rogen
13. ‘Reflections of Mufasa’ – Hans Zimmer
14. TBA
15. ‘Battle for Pride Rock’ – Hans Zimmer
16. ‘Remember’ – Hans Zimmer
17. ‘Never Too Late’ – Elton John
18. ‘He Lives in You’ – Lebo M
19. ‘Mbube’ – Lebo M

The Lion King will be released in cinemas on 19 July 2019.