The Full Works Concert - Tuesday 12 August, 8pm

Jane Jones explores the 'Pathetique' - with the help of Tchaikovsky and Beethoven.

There are plenty of treats in store in tonight’s Full Works Concert, beginning with the reigning Classic FM Hall of Fame No.1, The Lark Ascending by Vaughan WilliamsWritten in 1914, it's a serene evocation of an innocent bird rising over the rolling English countryside to ever loftier heights.

Two works by the name of ‘Pathetique’ are also on the programme: Beethoven’s Piano Sonata No.8 and the Symphony No.6 by Tchaikovsky (pictured).

The ‘Pathétique’: Tchaikovsky's journey from darkness to darkness > 

There's also something special from contemporary choral composer Eric Whitacre.

Ralph Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending
Violin: Janine Jansen
Barry Wordsworth conducts the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Sonata No.8 in C minor Opus 13 'Pathetique'
Piano: Jean-Efflam Bavouzet 

Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No.6 in B minor Opus 74
Thomas Dausgaard conducts the Swedish Chamber Orchestra

Eric Whitacre: Lux Aurumque
Eric Whitacre conducts the Eric Whitacre Singers

Carl Maria Von Weber: Clarinet Concerto No.2 in E-flat major Opus 74
Clarinet: Emma Johnson
Gerard Schwarz conducts the English Chamber Orchestra