The Full Works Concert - Tuesday 5 August, 8pm

Hercule Poirot meets the New World in tonight's Concert.

On tonight’s Full Works Concert, Jane Jones marks the 70th birthday of composer Christopher Gunning. The British composer's film and TV compositions have received many awards, including the 2007 BAFTA Award for Best Film Music for La Vie en Rose, as well as three additional awards for Poirot, Middlemarch, and Porterhouse Blue. Tonight Jane presents Gunning's Poirot Variants for saxophone and orchestra.  

INVESTIGATE: Poirot in the study with a ukulele? 10 times Agatha Christie went classical >

Tonight's Concert will also also feature Dvořák’s most famous symphony, the Ninth, 'From the New World' - a symphony that actually looks back from the USA, to the composer's native Bohemia. From his New York house overlooking Stuyvesant Park, Dvořák appeared to spend much of his time pining for home, rarely going out (unless contractually obliged to) and taking every opportunity to remind himself of home, particularly during the summer, which he spent with the Czech community of Spillville, Iowa. When he premiered this work in Carnegie Hall in 1893, critics disagreed over whether it was an all-American symphony (as he’d promised) or just more of Dvořák’s usual fare. What is certain is that it has lived on its myriad merits ever since, remaining one of the most popular symphonies of all.

Jean Sibelius: Finlandia Opus 26
Colin Davis conducts the Boston Symphony Orchestra

Tomaso Antonio Vitali: Chaconne in G minor
Violin: Sarah Chang
Jun Markl conducts the English Chamber Orchestra

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto No.20 in D minor K.466
Piano: Yevgeny Kissin
Vladimir Spivakov conducts Moscow Virtuosi

Christopher Gunning: Poirot Variants for alto saxophone and orchestra
Saxophone: Martin Robertson
Rumon Gamba conducts the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra

Antonin Dvořák: Symphony No.9 in E minor Opus 95
Marin Alsop conducts the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra