The Full Works Concert - Wednesday 23 January 2013: Celebrating the Royal Philharmonic Society

Thanks to the Royal Philharmonic Society, Beethoven’s famous Symphony No.5 received its first performance in the UK in 1816. We’ll hear that work tonight, alongside Vaughan Williams Symphony No.9 (commissioned by the RPS and premiered in 1958) and a piece of Tchaikovsky that will forever be associated with the Society.

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No.5 in C minor
Christopher Hogwood conducts the Academy of Ancient Music
First performance in England in 1816

Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky: Serenade for Strings in C major
Christoph Eschenbach conducts the Philadelphia Orchestra
First performance in England in 1888

Ralph Vaughan Williams: Symphony No.9 in E minor
Leonard Slatkin conducts the Philharmonia Orchestra
Commissioned by the RPS and premiered in 1958


Composer/ArtistFind out more
Beethoven >>Discover more about Beethoven
Tchaikovsky >>Discover more about Tchaikovsky