The Full Works Concert - Tuesday 29 January 2013: Classic FM’s Guide to the Orchestra

Tonight, Jane Jones continues to delve into different sections of the symphony orchestra, turning her attentions to music for woodwind.

Who better to represent the flute than James Galway, kicking off proceedings with the Jamican Rumba by Arthur Benjamin. We’ll hear Mozart’s celebration of the oboe, Finzi’s Clarinet Concerto in C minor, a Wind Quartet and a Wind Octet – all played in full - and fear not, bassoon fans: your instrument will not be overlooked!

Arthur Benjamin: Jamaican Rumba
Flute: James Galway
Daniel Measham conducts the Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Oboe Concerto in C major
Oboe: Nicholas Daniel
Nicholas Cleobury conducts the Britten Sinfonia

Franz Danzi: Wind Quintet in F major
Michael Thompson Wind Quintet

Gerald Finzi: Clarinet Concerto in C minor
Clarinet: Emma Johnson
Charles Groves conducts the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Franz Schubert: Minuet and Finale for Wind Octet
Vienna Octet

Carl Stamitz: Bassoon Concerto in F major
Bassoon: Laurence Perkins
Douglas Boyd conducts the Manchester Camerata

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov: Flight of the Bumblebee
Clarinet: Ludmilla Peterkova
Piano: Irina Kondratenko

Composer/ArtistFind out more
Schubert >>Discover more about Schubert
Finzi >>Discover more about Finzi