The Full Works Concert – Tuesday 14 May: Marvellous Maestros

Tonight Jane Jones presents the second of five concerts showcasing the world’s finest conductors.

There’s a feast of Russian music on tonight’s Full Works Concert, conducted by two very different maestros.

We begin with the Japanese conductor Seiji Ozawa - pictured above - at the podium with the Boston Symphony Orchestra - an orchestra for which he served as music director for 29 years - playing the Suite from Tchaikovsky’s Sleeping Beauty. And we’ll end with Vasily Petrenko on the podium for the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra’s performance of Rachmaninov’s Symphony No.2. Petrenko was named the RLPO's youngest-ever conductor. Since taking up the post, he has received praise from all quarters for revitalising the orchestra and its fortunes.  

In between, there’s a Germanic interlude in the form of Beethoven’s Symphony No.2, with Latvian Mariss Jansons conducting the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.

Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky: Sleeping Beauty – Suite
Seiji Ozawa conducts the Boston Symphony Orchestra 

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No.2 in D major 
Mariss Jansons conducts the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Sergei Rachmaninov: Symphony No.2 in E minor
Vasily Petrenko conducts the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra