The Full Works Concert – Thursday 2nd May: Living Legends

Tonight, Jane Jones celebrates five very different Living Legends on The Full Works Concert.

Maurizio Pollini performs the Schumann Piano Concerto; Kiri te Kanawa sings Mozart; there’s Tchaikovsky from cellist Mischa Maisky; Bach from Heinz Holliger; and a dazzling performance of Mendelssohn from the pianist Martha Argerich.

Robert Schumann: Piano Concerto in A minor
Piano: Maurizio Pollini
Claudio Abbado conducts the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart:  Laudate Dominum
Soprano: Kiri te Kanawa
Colin Davis conducts the London Symphony Orchestra and Chorus

Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme
Cello: Mischa Maisky
Orpheus Chamber Orchestra

Johann Sebastian Bach: Oboe Concerto in D major BWV.1053
Oboe: Heinz Holliger
Camerata Bern        

Felix Mendelssohn: Piano Trio No.1 in D minor
Piano: Martha Argerich
Violin: Renaud Capucon
Cello: Gautier Capucon