The Full Works Concert - Tuesday 6 November 2012: Mendelssohn

The works of great composer Mendelssohn is in the spotlight for tonight's Full Works Concert

The Full Works Concert begins with Mendelssohn’s famous Hebrides Overture (Fingal’s Cave).  From there, we’ll go on to enjoy the whole of the composer’s Symphony No.4 (‘Italian’), the astonishing Octet (written when Mendelssohn was still a teenager) and the beautiful yet rarely-heard Concerto for Violin and Piano.

Mendelssohn: The Great Composers: Mendelssohn
Hebrides Overture                        
Christian Thielemann conducts the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra

Mendelssohn: Octet in E flat major 
Medici String Quartet; Alberni String Quartet

Mendelssohn: Symphony No.4 in A major    
Claudio Abbado conducts the London Symphony Orchestra

Mendelssohn: Concerto for Violin and Piano in D minor  
Piano: Franco Gulli
Violin: Enrica Cavallo
Pierluigi Urbini conducts the Orchestra da Camera del Angelicum, Milan

ComposerFind out more
Mendelssohn >>Discover more about the great composer

Don't miss The Full Works Concert every weekday from 8pm.