The Full Works Concert - Tuesday 27 November 2012: Schumann

On tonight’s Full Works Concert, Jane Jones celebrates the music of Schumann.

Tonight, don’t miss a wonderful performance of the whole of the Schumann Piano Concerto, from Maria-Joao Pires and the Chamber Orchestra of Europe.  There’s some fine chamber music, too, in the form of the Fantasy Pieces for Clarinet and Piano, and the whole of the Symphony No.1 (‘Spring’).  Plus, Renaud Capucon performs the thrilling Schumann Violin Concerto.

Schumann: Symphony No.1 in B flat major
Thomas Dausgaard conducts the Swedish Chamber Orchestra

Schumann: Piano Concerto in A minor
Piano: Maria-Joao Pires
Claudio Abbado conducts the Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Schumann: Fantasy Pieces for Clarinet and Piano
Clarinet: Todd Levy
Piano: Elena Abend

Schumann: Violin Concerto in A minor
Violin: Renaud Capucon
Daniel Harding conducts the Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Composer/ArtistFind out more
Schumann >>Discover more about Schumann
Claudio Abbado >>Find out more about

Don't miss The Full Works Concert every week night from 8pm