The Full Works Concert - Monday 26 November 2012: Sibelius

Our month-long Great Composers series continues – and tonight, it’s all about Sibelius.

Beginning with the Finnish composer’s much-loved Karelia Suite, Jane Jones will go on to feature complete performances of the Symphony No.2 and the Symphony No.7.  Plus – the beautiful choral arrangement of Finlandia, dubbed ‘Be Still My Soul’, and the popular Valse Triste.

Sibelius: Karelia Suite
Sakari Oramo conducts the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Sibelius: Andante Festivo
Leif Segerstam conducts the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra

Sibelius: Be Still My Soul (Finlandia Anthem)
Matti Hyokki conducts the Helsinki University Chorus

Sibelius: Valse Triste
Daniel Barenboim conducts the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra

Sibelius: Symphony No.2 in D major
Neeme Jarvi conducts the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra

Sibelius: 2 Pieces Opus 77
Cello: Truls Mork
Piano: Jean-Yves Thibaduet

Sibelius: Symphony No.7 in C major
Vladimir Ashkenazy conducts the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra

Composer/ArtistFind out more
Sibelius >>Discover the great composer
Daniel Barenboim >>Find out more about the maestro
Romantic era                              >>Discover more about the Romantic era

Don't miss The Full Works Concert every week night from 8pm