The Full Works Concert - Monday 20 January 2014

Jane Jones presents a tribute to the great conductor Claudio Abbado who died today at the age of 80.

In a special Full Works Concert, Jane Jones pays tribute to the great Italian conductor Claudio Abbado whose death at the age of 80 was announced today.
The concert reflects the full range of Abbado's achievements as a conductor - from his tenure as the music director of La Scala, Milan from 1968 to 1986, to his post as principal conductor of the London Symphony Orchestra from 1979 to 1988. There will also be music from his years at the helm of the Berlin Philharmonic and his leadership of his own creation, Orchestra Mozart.  
Verdi: Grand March from Aida
Claudio Abbado conducts the Orchestra and Chorus of La Scala, Milan
Johann Strauss II: Where the Lemon Trees Blossom Waltz
Claudio Abbado conducts the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
Mozart: Piano Concerto No.14 
Piano: Maria-Joao Pires
Claudio Abbado conducts the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
Ravel: Bolero
Claudio Abbado conducts the London Symphony Orchestra
Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No.2
Claudio Abbado conducts Orchestra Mozart
Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto
Violin: Maxim Vengerov 
Claudio Abbado conducts the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
Schubert – An Die Musik 
Tenor: Thomas Quasthoff
Claudio Abbado conducts the Chamber Orchestra of Europe