The Full Works Concert – Friday 16 November 2012: Gershwin

Tonight, it’s definitely a feel-good Friday on the Full Works Concert, as Jane Jones heads Stateside to feature two hours of music by George Gershwin.

The original jazz band version of Rhapsody in Blue, as well as a brilliant performance of the Fantasy on Porgy and Bess from violinist Joshua Bell will feature tonight  Other highlights include the whole of the Gershwin Piano Concerto from pianist Wayne Marshall, and a great performance of An American in Paris from the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.

Gershwin: An American in Paris 
James Levine conducts the Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue  
Piano: George Gershwin (performance captured from a 1925 piano roll)
Michael Tilson Thomas conducts the Columbia Jazz Band

Gershwin: Three Preludes for Piano 
Clarinet: Emma Johnson
Piano: Julius Drake

Gershwin: Summertime      
Soprano: Roberta Alexander
Zubin Mehta conducts the New York Philharmonic Orchestra

Gershwin: Fantasy on Porgy and Bess  
Violin: Joshua Bell
John Williams conducts the London Symphony Orchestra

Gershwin: Piano Concerto  
Piano: Wayne Marshall
Aalborg Symphony Orchestra

Gershwin: Let ‘Em Eat Cake – Overture      
Michael Tilson Thomas conducts the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra

Composer/ArtistFind out more
Gershwin >>Discover more about Gershwin's music
Tilson Thomas >>Find out more about Michael Tilson Thomas

Don't miss the full works concert every week night from 8pm