The Full Works Concert - Thursday 13 December 2012: Mahler

Tonight Jane Jones celebrates the work of the mighty Mahler.

Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No.2 (‘Resurrection’) was given its premiere performance in Berlin on this day in 1895.  It’s one of the most extraordinary pieces in the history of classical music – and tonight, Jane Jones gives you the chance to hear it complete and uninterrupted.

But we’ll begin with Gershwin’s An American in Paris, premiered in New York on this day in 1928.

George Gershwin: An American in Paris
Zubin Mehta conducts the New York Philharmonic Orchestra

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No.2 in C minor
Soloists: Lorraine Hunt Lieberson, Isabel Bayrakdarian
Michael Tilson Thomas conducts the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra and Chorus

Composer/ArtistFind out more
Mahler >>Facts about the composer
Gershwin >>Discover Gershwin
Romantic Period >>Learn about the Romantic era

Don't miss the Full Works Concert every week day at 8pm