The Full Works Concert: Tuesday 10 March 2015, 8pm

Tonight’s Great Orchestra of the World is the New York Philharmonic, featuring their charismatic conductor Leonard Bernstein.

The New York Philharmonic has an enviable reputation as one of the greatest orchestras in the world. Founded in 1842, it is by far the oldest symphony orchestra in the United States. 

Since its inception the Orchestra has championed the new music of its time, commissioning or premiering many important works, such as Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9, From the New WorldRachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 3 and Gershwin’s Piano Concerto in F.

The Philharmonic has also given the U.S. premieres of such works as Beethoven’s Symphonies Nos. 8 and 9 and Brahms’s Symphony No. 4. This pioneering tradition has continued to the present day, with works of major contemporary composers regularly scheduled each season.

A media pioneer, the Philharmonic began radio broadcasts in 1922. On television, in the 1950s and 1960s, the Philharmonic inspired a generation through Leonard Bernstein’s Young People’s Concerts on CBS.

Tonight Jane Jones presents music including Bernstein conducting his own Symphonic Dances from West Side Story, Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique and a glorious finale from Central Park – Pavarotti singing ‘Nessun Dorma’ from the opera Turandot

George Gershwin: Variations on ‘I Got Rhythm’
Piano: Fazil Say
Kurt Masur conducts the New York Philharmonic Orchestra 

Hector Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique
Zubin Mehta conducts the New York Philharmonic Orchestra 

Giacomo Puccini: ‘Nessun Dorma’
Tenor: Luciano Pavarotti
Leone Magiera conducts the New York Philharmonic Orchestra 

Felix Mendelssohn: Piano Concerto No.1 in G minor
Piano: Helen Huang
Kurt Masur conducts the New York Philharmonic Orchestra 

Leonard Bernstein: West Side Story – Symphonic Dances
Leonard Bernstein conducts the New York Philharmonic Orchestra