The Full Works Concert - Wednesday 9 October 2013

Tchaikovsky's second Piano Concerto is the featured work in this evening's Concert.

Bach's Concerto for two violins, strings and continuo, also known as the Double Violin Concerto or 'Bach Double', is perhaps one of the most famous works by J. S. Bach and considered among the greatest pieces of the late Baroque. He wrote it between 1717 and 1723 when he was the capellmeister at the court of Anhalt-Köthen in Germany. The concerto is typified by the subtle and expressive relationship between the violins. 

Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 2 in G major was dedicated to the pianist Nikolai Rubinstein, who insisted on performing it at the premiere as a way of making up for his strong criticism of Tchaikovsky's first piano concerto. Rubinstein was never destined to play it, however, as he died eight months before the premiere. With its prominent solos in the second movement for the violin and cello, the work is effectively a concerto for piano trio and orchestra. Listen out also for the degree of separation between the orchestra and soloist, especially in the opening movement. Tchaikovsky had said many years earlier that he would never write a piano concerto because he could not tolerate the sound of piano and orchestra playing together.

Beethoven's Septet in E-flat major was sketched out in 1799, completed, and first performed in 1800 and published in 1802 with a dedication to the Empress Maria Theresa. It's scored for clarinet, horn, bassoon, violin, viola, cello, and double bass. It was quite an innovation to score for this combination of instruments as was the unusually prominent role of the clarinet, with a part as important as the violin. The Septet became one of Beethoven's most successful and popular works and circulated in many editions and arrangements for different forces. Beethoven himself later arranged the work as a Trio for clarinet (or violin), cello and piano, and this version was published as his op. 38 in 1805.

Johann Sebastian Bach: Concerto in D minor for 2 Violins
Soloists: Hilary Hahn, Margaret Batjer
Jeffrey Kahane conducts the Loes Angeles Chamber Orchestra

Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.2 in G major
Piano: Peter Donohoe
Rudolf Barshai conducts the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra

Ludwig van Beethoven: Septet in E flat major
Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra