The Full Works Concert – Friday 3rd May: Living Legends

Tonight, Jane Jones celebrates the extraordinary talents of Vladimir Ashkenazy.

We’ll hear him at the keyboard with a complete performance of Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No.3 – and after that, he’ll be on the podium to conduct the Philharmonia Orchestra for the Symphony No.2 by Sibelius.  And our Living Legends series concludes with the violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter, who’ll perform Mozart’s Violin Concerto No.1 with the London Philharmonic Orchestra.

Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.3 in C minor
Piano: Vladimir Ashkenazy
Georg Solti conducts the Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Jean Sibelius: Symphony No.2 in D major
Vladimir Ashkenazy conducts the Philharmonia Orchestra

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Violin Concerto No.1 in B flat major
Violin: Anne-Sophie Mutter
London Philharmonic Orchestra