The Full Works Concert - Wednesday 28 November 2012: Shostakovich

It’s an all-Russian affair on tonight’s Full Works Concert, as Jane Jones celebrates the life and the music of Shostakovich.

We’ll kick off with his Festive Overture, before going on to enjoy the famous Piano Concerto No.2, the Jazz Suite No.2 and the Symphony No.5 – all performed in full.

Shostakovich: Festive Overture
Riccardo Muti conducts the Philadelphia Orchestra

Shostakovich: Tahiti Trot (Tea for Two)
Paavo Jarvi conducts the Philharmonic Orchestra of Radio France

Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No.2 in F major
Piano: Dmitri Shostakovich Junior
Maxim Shostakovich conducts I Musici de Montreal

Shostakovich: Jazz Suite No.2
Dmitri Yablonsky conducts the Russian State Symphony Orchestra

Shostakovich: Symphony No.5 in D minor
Bernard Haitink conducts the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Shostakovich: 3 Fantastic Dances
Piano: Vladimir Ashkenazy

ComposerFind out more
Shostakovich >>Discover more about the Russian composer

Don't miss The Full Works Concert every week night from 8pm