The Full Works Concert - Thursday 28 August, 8pm

Bruch's love letter to his native Rhineland is at the heart of tonight's Concert.

It’s a packed Full Works Concert tonight – featuring the Karelia Suite by Sibelius, Allegri’s Miserere, a glorious contemporary guitar concerto, and Bruch’s epic Symphony No.3. 

Bruch's third and last symphony was written in Liverpool as a commission from the New York Symphony Society. Bruch wasn't satisfied with the work which he based on sketches made when he was young, and the following year he made a thorough revision of the first and fourth movements. The symphony is really a love letter from Bruch to his homeland. "This symphony is a work of life, of joy," he told a friend, "and it should have the title On the Rhine - Am Rhein - since it is a real expression of Rhineland love of life".

Jane Jones will also be marking the pianist Imogen Cooper’s 65th birthday.


Emile Waldteufel: Les Patineurs Opus 183
Ronald Corp conducts the New London Orchestra

Jean Sibelius: Karelia Suite Opus 11
Andrew Davis conducts the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra

Gregorio Allegri: Miserere
Harry Christophers directs The Sixteen

Richard Harvey: Concerto Antico for guitar and small orchestra
Guitar: John Williams
Paul Daniel conducts the London Symphony Orchestra

Sergei Rachmaninov: Vocalise Opus 34 No.14
Cello: Sonia Wieder-Atherton
Piano: Imogen Cooper

Max Bruch: Symphony No.3 in E major Opus 51
Kurt Masur conducts the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra