The Full Works Concert - Monday 17 November, 8pm

Music by Mozart, Rossini, Vivaldi, Delius and Finzi is on the menu tonight.

Tonight’s Full Works Concert climaxes with Mozart’s Symphony No.28 on the very night, 240 years ago, when the composer finished its composition. The first movement is notable for its rigorous character in the introduction. In its simple C major key, the melodies and themes are developed against the arpeggios in the first movement. In the finale, Mozart used the brass more prominently than usual, offering a hint to his later symphony, the 41st, 'Jupiter'.

Rossini 's overture for The Thieving Magpie opens the concert. The opera tells the story of a servant accused of stealing a silver spoon but, at the last minute, his master's magpie is found to be the true culprit. The title is a bit of a spoiler for the mystery really. 

Also in the concert, Gerald Finzi’s hauntingly beautiful Cello Concerto. It was composed in 1955 as the result of a request by John Barbirolli, and first performed by Barbirolli and the Hallé Orchestra, with Christopher Bunting as the soloist at the Cheltenham Music Festival on 19 July 1955. Part of the second movement was used as the signature tune for the radio 2003 adaptation of C. P. Snow's Strangers and Brothers.

Gioachino Rossini: The Thieving Magpie – Overture

Carlo Maria Giulini conducts the Philharmonia Orchestra

Antonio Vivaldi: Nulla in mundo pax sincera
Soprano: Emma Kirkby
Simon Preston conducts the Academy of Ancient Music

Gerald Finzi: Cello Concerto
Cello: Raphael Wallfisch
Vernon Handley conducts the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra 

Frederick Delius: Brigg Fair
Andrew Davis conducts the Royal Scottish National Orchestra

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No.28
Nikolaus Harnoncourt conducts the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra