The Full Works Concert - Thursday 11 September, 8pm

Dvorak's greatest symphony is the centrepiece of tonight's Concert.

Tonight’s Full Works Concert opens with a distinctly Spanish flavour courtesy of a Russian composer. Composed in 1887, Rimsky-Korsakov's Capriccio Espagnol was given its premiere in St. Petersburg with the composer himself conducting. Tchaikovsky declared to Rimsky-Korsakov "your 'Spanish Capriccio' is a colossal masterpiece of instrumentation, and you may regard yourself as the greatest master of the present day."

Catherine Bott stays in Spain with guitar music by Albeniz before introducing Dvorak’s most accomplished symphony, a work that links Prague, London and Glasgow.

DISCOVER: Dvorak's greatest symphony - the Seventh > 

The concert ends with a little-known but brilliant clarinet concerto, and Handel’s exuberant second Water Music Suite.

Nikolay Rimsky-Korsakov: Capriccio Espagnol Opus 34
Neeme Jarvi conducts the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra

Isaac Albeniz: Seville (Sevillanas)
New Pro Arte Guitar Trio

Antonin Dvorak: Symphony No.7 in D minor Opus 70
Ivan Fischer conducts the Budapest Festival Orchestra

Franz Krommer: Clarinet Concerto in E-flat major Opus 36
Clarinet: Sharon Kam
Jorg Faerber conducts the Wurrtemberg Chamber Orchestra

George Frideric Handel: Water Music Suite No.2 in D major
Roger Norrington conducts the London Classical Players