The Full Works Concert – Wednesday 8th May: Immortal Masters

It’s another night of Immortal Masters – and we begin with the conductor, composer and pianist Leonard Bernstein.

We’ll hear him on the podium, conducting the New York Phil in Grieg’s Peer Gynt Suite No.1, before he then takes to the keyboard as the soloist for Mozart’s Piano Concerto No.17.  Also tonight, the much-missed conductor Richard Hickox directs a rather unusual and intriguing symphony by Elgar.

Edvard Grieg: Peer Gynt Suite No.1
Leonard Bernstein conducts the New York Philharmonic Orchestra

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart; Piano Concerto No.17 in G major
Leonard Bernstein directs the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra from the keyboard

Edward Elgar: Symphony No.3 in C minor
(Elgar’s sketches for his Symphony No.3, elaborated by Anthony Payne)
Richard Hickox conducts the BBC National Orchestra of Wales