The Full Works Concert – Tuesday 23rd April: Hall Of Fame Favourites

Tonight, a real treat, as Jane Jones gives you the chance to hear the whole of Elgar’s Symphony No.1 performed by the London Symphony Orchestra conducted by Charles Mackerras.

We’ll also enjoy Bach’s Cantata No.140 in its entirety, alongside a Vaughan Williams favourite and a surprising new entry in this year’s Classic FM Hall of Fame from Mozart.

Ralph Vaughan Williams: English Folksongs Suite
John Wilson conducts the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Bassoon Concerto in B flat major
Bassoon: Laurence Perkins
Douglas Boyd conducts the Manchester Camerata

Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata No.140
Soloists: Ruth Holton, Michael Chance, Anthony Rolfe Johnson, Stephen Varcoe
John Eliot Gardiner conducts the English Baroque Soloists and the Monteverdi Choir

Edward Elgar: Symphony No.1 in A flat major
Charles Mackerras conducts the London Symphony Orchestra