The Full Works Concert - Friday 8 February 2013: Great Orchestras of the World

Jane Jones returns to America, musically speaking at least, and spends a couple of hours profiling the mighty Cleveland Orchestra.

Don’t miss Mitsuko Uchida directing the orchestra from the keyboard for a wonderful performance of Mozart’s Piano Concerto No.20, and the whole of Brahms’s Symphony No.1 conducted by Christoph von Dohnanyi.  Plus – Smetana’s overture to The Bartered Bride, and Ravel’s Le Tombeau de Couperin conducted by Pierre Boulez.

Bedrich Smetana: The Bartered Bride – Overture
Conductor: Christoph von Dohnanyi

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto No.20 in D minor
Piano: Mitsuko Uchida

Maurice Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin
Conductor: Pierre Boulez

Johannes Brahms: Symphony No.1 in C minor
Conductor: Christoph von Dohnanyi