The Full Works Concert - Friday 25 January 2013: Celebrating the Royal Philharmonic Society

Jane Jones rounds off our week-long celebration of the Royal Philharmonic Society’s bicentenary by featuring three fine full works.

Beginning with Beethoven’s Symphony No.7 which, thanks to the RPS, was given its first performance in the UK in 1817, we’ll also hear Mozart’s Piano Concerto No.16 and Spohr’s Symphony No.8.

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No.7 in A major
Colin Davis conducts Staatskapelle Dresden
First performance in England in 1817

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto No.16 in D major
Piano: Sebastian Knauer
Roger Norrington conducts Camerata Salzburg
First performance in England in 1821

Louis Spohr: Symphony No.8 in G major
Howard Shelley conducts the Orchestra of Italian Switzerland
Commissioned by the RPS and premiered in 1848

Composer/ArtistFind out more
Spohe >>Discover more about Spohr
Mozart >>Discover more about Mozart