The Full Works Concert - Tuesday 7 January 2014

A piece commissioned by Prince Charles provides a royal climax to tonight's Hall of Fame Full Works Concert.

Antonio Vivaldi's Concerto in G major for 2 Mandolins was first discovered among a collection of manuscripts left to a charitable mission of priests by the family of one count Giacomo Durazzo, a patron of the arts. Hundreds of previously unknown Vivaldi manuscripts were uncovered in his collection. This double concerto quickly became a 20th-century favourite.

The complex and bright Symphony No.41 by Mozart is known as the Jupiter symphony - but its name probably has nothing to do with Mozart. It was probably coined by the impresario Johann Peter Salomon and first used in a concert programme for the Philharmonic Society of London 26 years after Mozart died. The symphony was written by Mozart during a prolific seven-week spell in the summer of 1788 when he produced three fully-formed symphonies.

Gerald Finzi's Clarinet Concerto in C minor was written during a period immediately following the war years when the composer seemed to gain fresh impetus. It was premiered at the Three Choirs Festival in 1949, taking place that year in Hereford. Sadly, within just a couple of years, Finzi would be told of a fatal illness; he died in 1956 aged 55. His output, though small, is revered more and more every year.

Patrick Hawes was commissioned by HRH The Prince of Wales to write the Highgrove Suite in 2009. This began as a one-movement work for harp and strings and was premiered at Covent Garden on the Prince’s 60th birthday by the royal harpist Claire Jones and the Philharmonia Orchestra . Three new pieces for the same forces completed the suite, each one inspired by an aspect of Prince Charles's garden at Highgrove House, pictured.

Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto in G major for 2 Mandolins RV.532
Mandolins: Giovanni Scaramuzzino, Sonia Maurer
Fabio Biondi directs Europa Galante

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No.41 in C major K.551
Charles Mackerras conducts Scottish Chamber Orchestra

Gerald Finzi: Clarinet Concerto in C minor Opus 31
Clarinet: David Campbell
Nick Collon conducts Aurora Orchestra

Patrick Hawes: Highgrove Suite
Harp: Claire Jones
Patrick Hawes conducts Philharmonia Orchestra