The Full Works Concert: Monday 30 March 2015, 8pm

Mozart, Rachmaninov and Dvořák are among the great composers in tonight's concert.

Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 22 in E flat major, composed in December 1785, was the first piano concerto of Mozart's to include clarinets in its scoring. It's second, slow movement was such a hit at its first performance that there were calls for an encore. "A rather unusual occurrence!" wrote Mozart's father to his daughter Nannerl.

Dvořák (pictured) began work on his Seventh Symphony after his daily walk to the railway station in Prague. Dvořák related "the first subject of my new symphony flashed in to my mind on the arrival of the festive train bringing our countrymen from Pest". The passengers were arriving for a musical evening to support the political struggles of the Czech nation. He resolved that his new symphony would reflect this struggle. The Seventh is the most ambitious of Dvořák's symphonies in structure, and the most consciously international in its message. 


Franz von Suppé: Morning, Noon and Night in Vienna
John Eliot Gardiner conducts the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto No.22 in E-flat major
Piano: Angela Hewitt
Hannu Lintu conducts the National Arts Centre Orchestra 

Antonin Dvorak: Symphony No.7 in D minor
Ivan Fischer conducts the Budapest Festival Orchestra

Sergei Rachmaninov: Vocalise

Leonard Slatkin conducts the Detroit Symphony Chorus

Johann Baptist George Neruda: Trumpet Concerto in E-flat major
Tine Ting Helseth directs the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra