The Full Works Concert - Monday 29 September, 8pm

Jane Jones marks the anniversary of the first performance of Holst's The Planets.

Tonight’s Full Works Concert begins with one of the sunniest overtures in the repertoire, Lehar’s The Merry Widow. There’s an opportunity to hear from the great pianist Mitsuko Uchida, and the programme climaxes in Holst’s The Planets, which was premiered on this day in 1918.

The Planets is a work that captures a great deal of the composer's personality. There's his extrovert side in Jupiter, his sense of humour in Uranus, and his relaxed manner in the lyrical second movement of the work, Venus. Venus was the second of the seven Planets to be composed and has an unmistakable air of calm contrasting with the first movement, Mars, which is very loud and thunderous.

Franz Lehar: The Merry Widow – Overture
Richard Bonynge conducts the National Philharmonic Orchestra

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto No.19 in F major K.459
Mitsuko Uchida directs the Cleveland Orchestra from the piano 

Hubert Parry: I was glad
Timothy Byram-Wigfield directs the Choir of St.Georges Chapel, Windsor
Organ: Roger Judd

Johann Sebastian Bach: Concerto for 3 Violins in D major BWV.1064
Violins: Rachel Podger, Bojan Cicic, Johannes Pramsohler
Brecon Baroque

Gustav Holst: The Planets Opus 32
Vladimir Jurowski conducts the London Philharmonic Orchestra and women of the London Philharmonic Choir