The Full Works Concert - Tuesday 22 July

Borodin and Brahms, Handel and Haydn and a ballet by Stravinsky are all featured in tonight's Concert.

Jane Jones begins tonight’s Full Works Concert with the great Polovtsian Dances, from the full-time scientist and part-time composer, Borodin.

Borodin: Polovtsian Dances – musical thrills from the chemist who composed too little >

There is also some beautiful chamber music by Brahms and the suite from a ballet commissioned by the great Russian impresario Diaghilev, which had sets and costumes by Pablo Picasso.

Alexander Borodin: Prince Igor - Polovtsian Dances

Simon Rattle conducts the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra

George Frideric Handel: Organ Concerto in F major HWV.29
Organ: Richard Egarr
Academy of Ancient Music 

Igor Stravinsky: Pulcinella Suite
Alexander Janiczek conducts the Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Johannes Brahms: Cello Sonata No.1 in E minor Opus 38
Cello: Mischa Maisky
Piano: Pavel Gililov

Joseph Haydn: Symphony No.98 in B-flat major
Colin Davis conducts the London Symphony Orchestra