The Full Works Concert - Thursday 16 October 2014, 8pm

Mozart's 'Jupiter' Symphony is a highlight of tonight's Concert, which also features music by Bach, Chopin and Locatelli.

Tonight's Full Works Concert opens with Leopold Stokowski’s orchestral transcription of Bach’s dramatic Toccata and Fugue

Catherine Bott also features Chopin’s well-loved Piano Concerto No.1, and Mozart’s crowd-pleasing 'Jupiter' Symphony. The symphony was written by Mozart during a prolific seven-week spell in the summer of 1788 when he produced three fully formed symphonies. But its planetary name was probably coined by the impresario Johann Peter Salomon and first used in a concert programme for the Philharmonic Society of London 26 years after Mozart died. 

Johann Sebastian Bach: Toccata & Fugue in D minor BWV.565
Yannick Nezet-Seguin conducts the Philadelphia Orchestra

Frederic Chopin: Piano Concerto No.1 in E minor Opus 11
Piano: Nikolai Lugansky
Alexander Vedernikov conducts Sinfonia Varsovia

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No.41 in C major K.551
John Eliot Gardiner conducts the English Baroque Soloists

Pietro Antonio Locatelli: Concerto Grosso in E-flat major Opus 7 No.6
Giovanni Antonini conducts Il Giardino Armonico