The Full Works Concert - Thursday 1 November 2012: Beethoven

November is Great Composers Month on the Full Works Concert, as Jane Jones offers you the chance to delve into the music of some of the true legends of classical music.

There are three featured works this evening: The Overture to The Ruins of Athens, a complete performance of the beautiful Piano Concerto No.5 (‘Emperor’) from Helene Grimaud and Staatskapelle Dresden and the highlight of tonight’s concert is a complete, uninterrupted, hour-long performance of the mighty Symphony No.9 (‘Choral’) from the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir.

Beethoven: The Ruins of Athens – Overture                    
David Zinman conducts the Tonhalle Orchestra, Zurich

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.5 in E flat major (‘Emperor’)
Piano: Helene Grimaud
Vladimir Jurowski conducts Staatskapelle Dresden

Beethoven: Symphony No.9 in D minor (‘Choral’)
Soloists: Karita Mattila, Violeta Urmana, Thomas Quasthoff, Thomas Moser
Claudio Abbado conducts the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra and the Eric Ericson Chamber Choir

Composer/ArtistFind out more
Beethoven >> Beethoven: 20 facts about the great composer
Berlin Philharmonic >> The Berlin Philharmonic's best recordings

Don't miss The Full Works Concert every weekday from 8pm.