All Music News & Songs

Friday, 14th October 2016

  1. Chopin’s Fantasie-Impromptu on melodica is actually pretty awesome

Thursday, 13th October 2016

  1. The final Rogue One trailer is here: what does the music tell us?
  2. Just look at how fast Lang Lang can play a C major scale

Tuesday, 11th October 2016

  1. Can you guess the Star Wars movie just from the soundtrack?

Friday, 7th October 2016

  1. Nicola Benedetti: 'Tchaikovsky really captured the drama of what a virtuoso can do'

Wednesday, 5th October 2016

  1. Bristol University theatre cancels Aida over ‘racial diversity’

Tuesday, 4th October 2016

  1. Mozart’s Queen of the Night aria on Theremin sounds thoroughly weird
  2. Pachelbel’s Canon in D works surprisingly well as a pop-punk instrumental

Thursday, 29th September 2016

  1. Steve Reich: ‘In my lifetime, classical music has never been so populated with talented people’
  2. ‘There are an awful lot of people in this world who abuse power like Don Giovanni. Look at Brexit’
  3. Listen to Tchaikovsky banter with his friends in a 130-year-old recording

Sunday, 25th September 2016

  1. Laura Mvula: ‘Teaching music was the best and worst thing that ever happened to me’

Tuesday, 20th September 2016

  1. This excruciating rehearsal outtake shows just how much of a perfectionist musicians need to be

Monday, 19th September 2016

  1. Joy Division played over Swan Lake is unexpectedly dazzling
  2. This is the oldest known recording of an opera singer, and it’s incredibly interesting

Sunday, 18th September 2016

  1. Album reviews: The not so Magnificent Seven, musical star signs and thrilling dances

Thursday, 15th September 2016

  1. Nina Simone plays a stunning Bach-style fugue in the middle of one of her classic songs

Wednesday, 7th September 2016

  1. This is what happens when one of the world’s greatest conductors stumbles across a public piano

Tuesday, 6th September 2016

  1. The Star Trek theme played in the style of a Chopin polonaise is fascinating

Monday, 5th September 2016

  1. This unbelievable impersonator has created a duet between Pavarotti and Freddie Mercury

Friday, 2nd September 2016

  1. Listen to Cantata Memoria, Karl Jenkins’ tribute to Aberfan
  2. Watch Lang Lang turn the Poldark theme into a haunting piano prelude

Thursday, 1st September 2016

  1. Please take a moment to experience the worst rendition of Star Wars ever

Tuesday, 30th August 2016

  1. The very best Classic FM sessions at the Edinburgh International Festival
  2. The William Tell Overture played by a train set and bottles is a magnificent percussion achievement
  3. This is the best James Horner soundtrack you’ve never heard

Monday, 29th August 2016

  1. Mozart - The Man Revealed with John Suchet

Wednesday, 24th August 2016

  1. Need some inspiration to keep playing? Here’s a 96-year-old violinist playing Massenet’s Méditation from Thaïs
  2. Opera North becomes Classic FM's Opera Company in the UK

Tuesday, 23rd August 2016

  1. One amazing pianist dared to criticise Joseph Stalin – and remarkably lived to tell the tale
  2. This youth orchestra were stuck overnight in an airport, so they played something truly beautiful

Monday, 22nd August 2016

  1. Four guys play Bolero on one cello - and it's deeply satisfying
  2. The one simple chord that shows Claude Debussy was a harmonic genius

Thursday, 18th August 2016

  1. The righteous sounds of Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata… on ELECTRIC GUITAR

Wednesday, 17th August 2016

  1. This concert pianist thinks all classical concerts should be under 80 minutes
  2. Tchaikovsky’s violin concerto played on a Chinese Erhu sounds devastatingly lyrical

Tuesday, 16th August 2016

  1. These two music students played a duet for flute and piano… but not in the way you expect
  2. Stop what you’re doing and watch this stormtrooper playing the Imperial March on piano
  3. ‘The most difficult thing as a young composer is to find your own voice’, says Ludovico Einaudi
  4. Listen to this hilarious (and quite biting) Steven Spielberg anecdote from John Williams