All Music News & Songs

Monday, 3rd August 2015

  1. John Rutter celebrates his 70th birthday: 'I'm still 27 inside'

Saturday, 1st August 2015

  1. Cellist Peter Gregson on a new approach to Bach, working with dancers and the atmosphere at the Bristol Proms

Friday, 31st July 2015

  1. The Music of Patrick Doyle: Solo Piano

Thursday, 30th July 2015

  1. Alison Balsom plays 'The Way You Look Tonight'

Tuesday, 28th July 2015

  1. This is what Mozart's own violin actually sounds like (spoiler: it's delightful)
  2. Your choir could sing at a Paul Mealor premiere in New York. Auditions are open now
  3. Daniel Hope plays some hugely exciting Tchaikovsky

Monday, 27th July 2015

  1. Daniel Hope on the beef between Tchaikovsky and Brahms

Wednesday, 22nd July 2015

  1. New Bond soundtrack: what does the new Spectre trailer tell us?

Tuesday, 21st July 2015

  1. Director discovers secret film score for Magnificent Seven remake - after composer's death
  2. Pay what you like and bring in your beer – legendary UK orchestra tears up the concert-going rulebook
  3. Maria Callas's limousines sell for more than £156,000

Monday, 20th July 2015

  1. The time a quartet decided to play Vivaldi upside-down, and everyone lost their minds
  2. Sol3 Mio’s Pene Pati wins the audience prize at Plácido Domingo’s Operalia – and video blogs the whole thing

Saturday, 18th July 2015

  1. A top singer's guide to getting through that long, long rehearsal

Friday, 17th July 2015

  1. Martha Argerich: Carte Blanche

Wednesday, 15th July 2015

  1. The trailer for Jonas Kaufmann’s new Puccini album just dropped and we can’t contain ourselves
  2. Sharks are a little less scary thanks to Joshua Bell and the London Symphony Orchestra

Friday, 10th July 2015

  1. ENO Artistic Director John Berry steps down

Wednesday, 8th July 2015

  1. Debbie Wiseman appointed Classic FM's new Composer in Residence

Sunday, 5th July 2015

  1. Craig Ogden’s new album goes straight to No.1 in the classical chart

Thursday, 2nd July 2015

  1. This pianist spontaneously turned the Coronation Street theme into a completely stunning piece of solo piano music

Wednesday, 1st July 2015

  1. Yuanfan Yang on his Classic FM Live debut
  2. How to play Grieg's Piano Concerto, by Gabriela Montero
  3. Wynne Evans serenaded us and we're feeling a bit emotional
  4. 'It's humbling and gratifying that my music is performed globally', says Sir Karl Jenkins

Tuesday, 30th June 2015

  1. Gabriela Montero played a piano improvisation just for us
  2. Opening night of Royal Opera’s William Tell met with boos at depiction of 'sexual assault'

Thursday, 25th June 2015

  1. This is what it's like to conduct the William Tell Overture
  2. Craig Ogden plays 'Sevilla' exclusively for Classic FM

Tuesday, 23rd June 2015

  1. James Horner's final Classic FM interview: turning down Lord of the Rings and the trouble with directors
  2. Film music composer James Horner killed in plane crash, aged 61

Monday, 22nd June 2015

  1. Kirill Petrenko is the chief conductor of the Berlin Philharmonic

Friday, 19th June 2015

  1. Vienna Philharmonic: Summer Night Concert Schönbrunn 2015

Tuesday, 16th June 2015

  1. Exclusive: André Rieu launches 'Ask André' at cinema screenings
  2. Daniel Barenboim and Gustavo Dudamel have recorded absolutely stonking Brahms concertos (and you can hear it here first)

Monday, 15th June 2015

  1. Joshua Bell and Academy of St. Martin in the Fields are Classic FM’s Artists in Residence

Friday, 12th June 2015

  1. Karl Jenkins has been made a knight and we’re absolutely delighted
  2. Sir Neville Marriner becomes a companion of honour and Karl Jenkins is given a knighthood in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list

Tuesday, 9th June 2015

  1. Classical music can help lower blood pressure