All Music News & Songs

Thursday, 29th September 2016

  1. Listen to Tchaikovsky banter with his friends in a 130-year-old recording

Sunday, 25th September 2016

  1. Laura Mvula: ‘Teaching music was the best and worst thing that ever happened to me’

Tuesday, 20th September 2016

  1. This excruciating rehearsal outtake shows just how much of a perfectionist musicians need to be

Monday, 19th September 2016

  1. Joy Division played over Swan Lake is unexpectedly dazzling
  2. This is the oldest known recording of an opera singer, and it’s incredibly interesting

Sunday, 18th September 2016

  1. Album reviews: The not so Magnificent Seven, musical star signs and thrilling dances

Friday, 16th September 2016

  1. Michael Giacchino will compose the Rogue One soundtrack, not Alexandre Desplat

Thursday, 15th September 2016

  1. Nina Simone plays a stunning Bach-style fugue in the middle of one of her classic songs

Wednesday, 7th September 2016

  1. This is what happens when one of the world’s greatest conductors stumbles across a public piano

Tuesday, 6th September 2016

  1. The Star Trek theme played in the style of a Chopin polonaise is fascinating

Monday, 5th September 2016

  1. This unbelievable impersonator has created a duet between Pavarotti and Freddie Mercury

Friday, 2nd September 2016

  1. Pachelbel’s Canon in D works surprisingly well as a pop-punk instrumental
  2. Listen to Karl Jenkins’ heart-breaking memorial to the 116 children and 28 adults who died in Aberfan in 1966

Thursday, 1st September 2016

  1. Please take a moment to experience the worst rendition of Star Wars ever

Wednesday, 31st August 2016

  1. Win tickets to the London Mozart Players, a hotel stay and lunch

Tuesday, 30th August 2016

  1. The very best Classic FM sessions at the Edinburgh International Festival
  2. The William Tell Overture played by a train set and bottles is a magnificent percussion achievement
  3. This is the best James Horner soundtrack you’ve never heard

Monday, 29th August 2016

  1. Listen Again: Mozart - The Man Revealed with John Suchet

Wednesday, 24th August 2016

  1. Need some inspiration to keep playing? Here’s a 96-year-old violinist playing Massenet’s Méditation from Thaïs
  2. Opera North becomes Classic FM's Opera Company in the UK

Tuesday, 23rd August 2016

  1. One amazing pianist dared to criticise Joseph Stalin – and remarkably lived to tell the tale
  2. This youth orchestra were stuck overnight in an airport, so they played something truly beautiful

Monday, 22nd August 2016

  1. Four guys play Bolero on one cello - and it's deeply satisfying
  2. The one simple chord that shows Claude Debussy was a harmonic genius

Thursday, 18th August 2016

  1. The righteous sounds of Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata… on ELECTRIC GUITAR

Wednesday, 17th August 2016

  1. This concert pianist thinks all classical concerts should be under 80 minutes
  2. Tchaikovsky’s violin concerto played on a Chinese Erhu sounds devastatingly lyrical

Tuesday, 16th August 2016

  1. These two music students played a duet for flute and piano… but not in the way you expect
  2. Stop what you’re doing and watch this stormtrooper playing the Imperial March on piano
  3. ‘The most difficult thing as a young composer is to find your own voice’, says Ludovico Einaudi
  4. Listen to this hilarious (and quite biting) Steven Spielberg anecdote from John Williams

Friday, 12th August 2016

  1. The Jurassic Park theme slowed down 1,000% is a minimalist masterpiece
  2. This petrol pump guy sings Handel surprisingly beautifully

Thursday, 11th August 2016

  1. This pianist’s genius response to a mobile phone ringing had the audience in stitches

Monday, 8th August 2016

  1. This girl playing Vivaldi’s Four Seasons on ELECTRIC GUITAR will melt your face
  2. The awe-inspiring counterpoint in Mozart's final symphony, explained in one video

Friday, 5th August 2016

  1. Best Olympic anthems: a timeline of the finest music written for the games

Wednesday, 3rd August 2016

  1. The keyboard skills of this ten-year-old virtuoso pianist will blow your mind

Tuesday, 2nd August 2016

  1. Nothing to see here, just 84 pianists playing Gershwin's Rhapsody in Blue at the same time

Now Playing on Classic FM