The Classic FM Film Music of the Year Award

The winner of the Classic FM Film Music of the Year Award has been announced at the Richard Attenborough Film Awards ceremony this lunchtime.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince's soundtrack won first prize, and Avatar's came second.  Simon Bates presented the composers, Nicholas Hooper and James Horner respectively, with their Awards.

The recipients of the Film Music of the Year Award were decided by the votes of Classic FM listeners. Classic FM is the proud sponsor of the new Award, which celebrates the finest original film score in a film released in cinemas over the last year as part of the Richard Attenborough Film Awards (RAFAs) 2010.

The RAFAs are the UK’s regional film awards. Six categories – film, filmmaker, actor, actress, screenwriter and rising star – are voted for by critics, journalists and producers working in all branches of regional media, while additional categories are determined by public votes.

Pixar's film Up has been named Best Film, James Cameron has won the Filmmaker of the Year Award for Avatar, rising British actress Carey Mulligan is Best Actress for her role in An Education and Sam Rockwell was named Best Actor for Moon.  Sir Richard Attenborough himself was declared 'All-time Legend' by journalists across the UK.

Now in their second year, these prestigious annual prizes are decided by UK arts and entertainment journalists, broadcasters and the British people. The awards are presided over by Lord Attenborough who, for more than six decades, has served the British film industry as actor, producer, director and all-round champion.

Last year Classic FM listeners voted The Dark Knight by James Newton Howard and Hans Zimmer the best original film score.

Film of the Year