Mariss Jansons


Mariss Jansons

Mariss Jansons is a Latvian conductor, currently the Chief Conductor of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.

Life and Music

  • Born in Latvia, Jansons studied at the St Petersburg Conservatoire, before steadily establishing himself as a conductor who combined exceptional command and firepower with a flair for letting the music speak for itself.
  • He won the Grammy Award for best orchestral performance in 2006 for Shostakovich: Symphony No. 13 with Sergey Aleksashkin (bass) and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra and Chorus.
  • Naturally at home in the Russian masterworks, Jansons is also a fine exponent of the big symphonic scores of Mahler and Richard Strauss.
  • He is now music director of both the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra (KCO) in Amsterdam and Bavarian Radio Symphony orchestras, and has recovered impressively from a heart attack suffered during a performance of Puccini’s La Boheme.

Did you know?
Jansons has conducted the Vienna Philharmonic’s famous New Year’s Concert twice – in 2006 and 2012. The concert was televised worldwide in 73 countries.

Gustav Mahler, Symphony No. 8



Top Mariss Jansons Pieces