Gramophone Awards 2015

Gramophone Awards

Bernard Haitink and Carolyn Sampson were among the classical music legends celebrating wins at the Gramophone Awards this year. Scroll down for videos, pictures and all the news...

This year's Gramophone Awards ceremony took place on Thursday 17 September at St John's Smith Square, London.

Celebrating the best recordings of the year, the Gramophone Awards are one of the most significant honours in the classical music world. Since they were established in 1973, they have recognised the talent and creativity in the very best classical music recordings.

This year, Gramophone critics added up a list of recordings that have been favourably reviewed in the past year. The critics also added up to six further recordings they thought should be included in the long list. This list then boils down to a selection of categories including 'Orchestral', 'Recital', and 'Instrumental', with six recordings in each.

Winners are picked by a team of contributors and editors, with the prestigious 'Artist of the Year' category chosen by a public vote.

Previous winners have included musical superstars such as conductor Gustavo Dudamel, The Sixteen, Herbert von Karajan and Nigel Kennedy - to name but a few!

Gramophone Awards Pictures