Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment


Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment is an internationally renowned period instrument orchestra.

  • The OAE mainly plays music from the Enlightenment period – the late seventeenth, eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. It aims to capture the Enlightenment ideals of innovation and enquiry. Through using period instruments, it aims to recreate the vitality of the original performances.
  • Among those conductors who perform regularly with the Orchestra is Simon Rattle, in whom it relied upon in the beginning. He, Iván Fischer and Vladimir Jurowski share the title Principal Artist.
  • In July 2008 the OAE moved to the brand new development Kings Place, where it is Resident Orchestra, together with the London Sinfonietta. It also continues its residency at the South Bank.

Did you know?
The OAE has no permanent music director, giving it flexibility to work with a wide range of conductors and soloists across a varied repertoire.

Haydn Symphony No.64 at The Night Shift



Mahler1 Felix Mendelssohn: Elijah

Find out more about Mendelssohn's.: Elijah Watch and listen to different recordings and download your favourite.

Top OAE Pieces