The Full Works Concert - Monday 11 February 2013: Great Orchestras of the World

Throughout February, Jane Jones is profiling a different ensemble as part of our Great Orchestras of the World series – and tonight, we’re heading Stateside for a fine concert of music from the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.

We’ll begin with the whole of Beethoven’s Symphony No.4 conducted by Georg Solti, before going on to enjoy all 50, uninterrupted minutes of Brahms’s Piano Concerto No.1 performed by Emanuel Ax.  There’s also music by Franz Lehar sung by Placido Domingo, before a rousing finish thanks to Tchaikovsky’s 1812 Overture.

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No.4 in B flat major
Conductor: George Solti

Johannes Brahms: Piano Concerto No.1 in D minor
Piano: Emanuel Ax
Conductor: James Levine

Franz Lehar: ‘Dein ist mein ganzes Herz’ (‘You Are My Heart’s Delight’ from The Land of Smiles)
Tenor: Placido Domingo
Conductor: Daniel Barenboim

Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture
Conductor: Daniel Barenboim