The Full Works Concert - Tuesday 8 July, 8pm

Jane Jones marks Percy Grainger's birthday and has some Spanish-flavoured works to add sunshine to the programme

Percy Grainger, the Australian-born composer, arranger and pianist, was born on this day in 1882. Grainger played a prominent role in the revival of interest in British folk music in the early years of the 20th century. He also made many adaptations of other composers' works. Although much of his work was experimental, the piece with which he is most generally associated is his arrangement of the folk-dance tune Country Gardens, which we hear tonight along with his haunting choral piece, Shallow Brown.

Discover Percy Grainger's Peculiar Passions >

Otherwise there is a decidedly Spanish flavour to other items in the Full Works Concert this evening, with Sarasate’s Zigeunerweisen and a guitar concerto by Salvador Bacarisse. Bacarisse (1898-1963) was a leading member of a Spanish group of composers known as the Grupo de los Ocho, founded to combat musical conservatism. At the end of the Spanish Civil War in 1939, the composer exiled himself to Paris after rejecting the militarist Franco regime. His Concertino for Guitar and Orchestra in A minor, composed in 1952 in a neo-romantic style, is his most famous work. 

Also on the programme, Jane Jones will be playing Mozart's Piano Sonata No.16 in C and Sibelius’ Symphony No.2.

Pablo de Sarasate: Zigeunerweisen Opus 20
Nigel Kennedy directs the English Chamber Orchestra from the violin

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Sonata No.16 in C major K.545
Piano: Mitsuko Uchida

Salvador Bacarisse: Guitar Concertino in A minor Opus 72
Guitar: Narciso Yepes
Odon Alonso conducts the RTV Symphony Orchestra, Spain

Percy Grainger: Country Gardens
Simon Rattle conducts the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Percy Grainger: Shallow Brown
Baritone: David Wilson-Johnson
Stephen Layton directs Polyphony

Jean Sibelius: Symphony No.2 in D major Opus 43
Neeme Jarvi conducts the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra