The Full Works Concert - Monday 24 November 2014

Tchaikovsky, Beethoven, Mozart and Sibelius are the great composers on tonight's concert.

Jane Jones introduces a concert celebrating 95 years since Sibelius's Symphony No.5 was given its world premiere.

The work's birth came smack bang in the middle of what must rank as one of the most exciting musical decades of the century: ranging from Stravinsky’s The Firebird in 1910, through to the modernist composer Edgard Varèse working with the New York Philharmonic in 1919.

Although Sibelius enjoyed near god-like status in his home country, his Symphony No. 5 was a direct response to not entirely favourable reviews of his Symphony No.4. He even revised the later work, saying, "I wished to give my symphony another – more human – form. More down-to-earth, more vivid."

The concert opens with Tchaikovsky’s dramatic Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture, whilst Maria-Joao Pires performs Beethoven’s Fourth Piano Concerto with Daniel Harding conducting the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra. 

Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Romeo and Juliet
Andrew Litton conducts the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra

Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.4
Piano: Maria-Joao Pires
Daniel Harding conducts the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra 

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Horn Quintet in Eb major
Horn: David Pyatt
Violin: Kenneth Sillito
Viola: Robert Smissen/Stephen Tees
Cello: Stephen Orton

Jean Sibelius: Symphony No.5
Jukka-Pekka Saraste conducts the London Philharmonic Orchestra