The Full Works Concert: Monday 2 February 2015, 8pm

Jane Jones presents a concert of the top four works in last year's Classic FM Hall of Fame, played in full.

Voting for the 20th Classic FM Hall of Fame is currently under way and the Top 300 will be unveiled over Easter weekend.

Throughout the month of February the Full Works Concert will be looking back at the 2014 Hall of Fame and playing many of the pieces that made it into the nation's favourite chart. 

Tonight Jane Jones plays last year's top four in full, including the nation's No.1 - Vaughan Williams's The Lark Ascending and the second place piece that was deposed from the top last year - Rachmaninov's 2nd Piano Concerto.

But it's Beethoven's Emperor Concerto, that Jane regards as "one of the most accomplished of all piano concertos, with a striking opening movement and a glorious rondo finale, but it’s the beauty and serenity of the hymn-like adagio which makes this Beethoven’s best."

DISCOVER: Beethoven's Emperor Concerto: a work ahead of its time > 

Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.5 in E flat major, ‘Emperor’
Piano: Arturo Pizzaro
Charles Mackerras conducts the Scottish Chamber Orchestra

Ralph Vaughan Williams: Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
Mark Elder conducts the Halle Orchestra

Sergei Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2 in C minor
Piano: Valentina Lisitsa
Michael Francis conducts the London Symphony Orchestra

Ralph Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending
Violin: Iona Brown
Neville Marriner conducts the Academy of St Martin in the Fields