The Full Works Concert – Wednesday 14 November 2012: Schubert

On tonight’s Full Works Concert, Jane Jones celebrates the life and the music of Franz Schubert.

Highlights include the mighty Symphony No.9 (‘Great’), lasting over an hour and played complete and uninterrupted.  Plus, we’ll hear the beautiful German Mass and the lively Marche Militaire No.1 performed by pianist Yevgeny Kissin.

Schubert: Marche Militaire No.1 in D major                    
Piano: Yevgeny Kissin

Schubert: Symphony No.9 in C major               
Neville Marriner conducts the Academy of St. Martin in the Fields

Schubert: Standchen                            
Bass-baritone: Thomas Quasthoff
Claudio Abbado conducts the Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Schubert: String Trio in Bb major D.471                    
Leopold String Trio

Schubert: German Mass                           
Organ: Elmar Schlotter
Wolfgang Sawallisch conducts members of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra and Choir

ComposerFind out more
Schubert >> Discover more about Schubert

Don't miss the full works concert every week night from 8pm