CD of the week: Craig Ogden: The Guitarist

The Guitarist is the Number 1 album from one of the world's finest classical guitarists, Craig Ogden.

Australian-born surfing guitarist Craig Ogden's debut solo album on Classic FM entitled, 'The Guitarist' went straight to Number 1. The album comprises 20 tracks, including several new guitar versions of popular classical pieces as well as a number of brand new compositions.

They range from the haunting, shimmering Memories of the Alhambra, composed for guitar by Francisco Tárrega, to arrangements of romantic piano classics, such as Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata and Debussy’s Clair de Lune; from traditional songs such as Scarborough Fair and Waltzing Matilda to Leonard Cohen’s pop anthem Hallelujah and the throbbing theme from the film Pirates of the Caribbean.

Craig Ogden has worked closely with his mentor John Williams and has been seen by most observers as Williams’ successor while his already substantial recorded catalogue has been widely praised, including from no less a figure than the great Spanish composer Joaquín Rodrigo who expressed his admiration for the Australian’s recording of the unforgettable Concierto de Aranjuez. As Rodrigo’s daughter wrote to the guitarist: “'My father enjoyed your interpretation immensely … this recording has confirmed your position among the greatest guitarists".

'The Guitarist' by Craig Ogden is out now. Order your copy now from any of the retailers below:

Order from Amazon

Order from Play

Download from iTunes

Listen to excerpts from The Guitarist below...


1. Memories Of Alhambra

2. Ashokan Farewell

3. Moonlight Sonata

4. Canon In D Major

5. Clair De Lune

6. Hallelujah

7. Scarborough Fair

8. Pirates Of The Caribbean – Theme

9. Le Onde

10. Siciliana

11. Romance No. 1

12. Simple Seranade

13. Lough Caragh

14. If She Loves Me Not

15. Chrysalis

16. Birds Flew Over The Spire

17. Romance No. 2

18. Canarios

19. Rondo Rodeo

20. Waltzing Matilda