The Full Works Concert - Wednesday 5 November 2014

Jane Jones marks Guy Fawkes night with some incendiary classical masterpieces.

Jane Jones celebrates Guy Fawkes Night with a spectacular concert of music that evokes fire and light. 

The concert opens with Handel’s famous Music for the Royal Fireworks and Haydn’s 'Fire' Symphony. 

DISCOVER: How Handel's great work created sparks of its own >

Morten Lauridsen’s Lux Aeterna and Bax’s tone poem Into the Twilight provide some rather more soothing light before the evening concert concludes with a spectacular performance of Tchaikovsky’s 1812 overture, from the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra.


Georg Frideric Handel: Music for the Royal Fireworks
Neville Marriner conducts the Academy of St Martin in the Fields

Franz Joseph Haydn: Symphony No.59 in A major (‘Fire’)
Trevor Pinnock conducts The English Concert

Igor Stravinsky: Fireworks Opus 4
Lorin Maazel conducts the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra

Morten Lauridsen: Lux Aeterna
Stephen Layton conducts the Britten Sinfonia and Polyphony

Arnold Bax: Into the Twilight
BBC Philharmonic Orchestra/Vernon Handley

Jerry Goldsmith: Fireworks
Jerry Goldsmith conducts the London Symphony Orchestra

Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture
Herbert von Karajan conducts the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra

Classic FM Apps

Get the Classic FM app for iPhone, iPad and Android - now with HD audio

Cat composer Alexander Livitsanos

This utterly adorable kitten is the ultimate distraction from work

chocolate bar musical taste

Can we guess your favourite chocolate bar from your favourite composer?

broken e-string violin

This clip captures the sheer horror of an E-string snapping halfway through a live radio broadcast