The Full Works Concert: Wednesday 4 March 2015, 8pm

Jane Jones celebrates the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra in their 250th anniversary of the year.

Continuing the Full Works Concert's Great Orchestras of the World month, Jane Jones crosses from yesterday's sojourn in Los Angeles to the rather colder climes of Norway, to hear from the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra.

The orchestra is this year celebrating its 250th anniversary. 

Tonight we hear Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto with Vadim Gluzman, and two Nordic pieces, Svendsen’s First Symphony and two Nordic Melodies arranged by Grieg. There’s also a chance to hear one of the orchestra’s celebrated recordings of Liszt’s Piano Concerto No.2 with Stephen Hough.

Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D major
Violin: Vadim Gluzman
Andrew Litton conducts the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra

Johann Svendsen: Symphony No.1 in D major
Neeme Jarvi conducts the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra

Edvard Grieg: 2 Nordic Melodies
Ole Kristian Ruud conducts the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra

Franz Liszt: Piano Concerto No.2 in A major
Piano: Stephen Hough
Andrew Litton conducts the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra

Classic FM Apps

Get the Classic FM app for iPhone, iPad and Android - now with HD audio

rune brodahl horn player

Joyous: this horn player absolutely lets rip during a ballet performance

Backstreet Boys in the style of Bach

The Backstreet Boys' 'I Want It That Way' in the style of a Bach Allemande


Quiz: Answer these questions and we'll tell you what your ultimate summer banger is