The Full Works Concert - Thursday 18 September, 8pm

Catherine Bott introduces a Concert of classical masterpieces, including Mozart's Requiem and Schubert performed by Mitsuko Uchida - one of today's greatest pianists.

Mitsuko Uchida

Tonight on the Full Works Concert, Catherine Bott presents Mozart ’s monumental Requiem , the wonderful pianist Mitsuko Uchida in Schubert , as well as beautiful ballet music by Khachaturian.

Discover: Mozart's Requiem - A masterpiece shrouded in mystery >

Also, on this date in 1809 the second Theatre Royal at Covent Garden opened. The first had been destroyed the previous year in a fire. The occasion is marked with Carlo Rizzi conducting the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House in the overture to Rossini's version of Cinderella.

Gioachino Rossini: La Cenerentola – Overture
Carlo Rizzi conducts the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden 

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Requiem K.626
Soloists: Carys Lane, Francis Bourne, Paul Badley, Matthew Brook
Nigel Short conducts the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and Tenebrae 

Franz Schubert: Piano Sonata in A major D.664
Piano: Mitsuko Uchida 

Aram Khachaturian: Spartacus - Ballet Suite No.1
Neeme Jarvi conducts the Royal Scottish National Orchestra


The Full Works Concert