Smetana - Má Vlast

Smetana's Má Vlast composed between 1874-1879 proves he is a master of the symphonic poem: a descriptive, single-movement orchestral piece, telling a story, painting a musical picture, or conveying a certain landscape.

Smetana Má Vlast

At over an hour long, Má Vlast is a mighty work, comprising six poems in total; but its popularity is due mainly to the second one, Vltava – a beautiful, evocative musical painting of the rolling river that passes through the city of Prague. Listen for the ebbing and flowing woodwind passages dancing alongside the persistent, driving strings, creating a wonderful sense of movement along various parts of the river. During the journey we encounter a hunt, a wedding party and even some water nymphs.

Much is understandably made of Beethoven’s deafness – but what many people forget is that the same loss of hearing befell Smetana. Very soon after starting work on Má Vlast he was to become completely deaf. Consequently, the vast majority of this music existed only in his head, and he never heard it performed by an orchestra.

Video: City of Prague Philharmonic

Smetana: Má Vlast recordings


Bedrich Smetana Composer Bedrich Smetana

Discover Smetana: full biography, news, features and music to play and download.

Smetana Piano Trios Suk and Novák hidden gems

They might be named after the Czech composer, but it's on the piano works of Suk and Novák that the Smetana Trio really shine